Path 2

News Monday, Feb 1 2016

The Results Are In, And The Republicans Lost

Feb 01, 2016

The results for the Iowa caucuses are in, and while Iowa went for Ted Cruz, the Republican Party still can’t count any victories. Ignoring every warning that came with the party’s 2012 loss, the entire field has run further right than ever before on every issue from immigration to a women’s right to choose.

Donald Trump pushed the GOP’s xenophobic and anti-immigrant positions out of the shadows, forcing the rest of the field to copy him. But candidates like Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio aren’t just slinging red meat for primary votes — they actually believe in those extreme policies. The snowball effect started by Trump’s rise shows no sign of stopping.

Instead of offering thoughtful foreign policy solutions, the GOP contenders continue to fear-monger and push xenophobic anti-Muslim policies. No Republican candidates support a path to citizenship or President Obama’s immigration protections like DAPA and DACA. The entire field would defund the largest women’s health provider in the country, Planned Parenthood. Every Republican tax policy is rigged to benefit the top one-percent earners while hurting the middle class. On earned benefits, the field has offered no new ideas, proposing partially privatizing Social Security and raising the retirement age.

And in a twist that must feel good at Cruz HQ, he has been repeatedly dinged by the media for not working hard enough to set expectations. But tonight, it looks like Cruz’s confidence that he’d beat Donald Trump in Iowa was well-placed. It turns out that channeling Trump’s far-right rhetoric and anti-immigrant policies plays pretty well with the GOP base:

As the focus moves on to New Hampshire, the muddled GOP field won’t stop their infighting and their messages won’t get any more moderate. It doesn’t matter who wins: the 2016 Republican Nominee will be an extreme right-winger pushing divisive and backwards policies guaranteed to fail the GOP again and again.

Published: Feb 1, 2016

Jump to Content